Discussing UK law. Links: swarb.co.uk | law-index | Acts | Members Image galleries

I have been ripped off, but have they legally ripped me off?

Copyright, Trade Marks, Patents, Information Law etc

I have been ripped off, but have they legally ripped me off?

Postby mikeylfc20 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:11 pm

So I bought a popular software the other day online.

It is from a very popular and large american software company (sell worldwide), and thye have a huge variety of advanced software.

I have been ripped off as after buying this license key from online, it is an educational license key, which is given away free to students in the UK if they request one.

So I have bought something and someone has just put fake details in to say I was a student, and given me a license key which was free and have charged me for it.

So I am asking. Is this legal? It isnt a government website or anything, it is a matter of them putting a fake name in, and a fake university/school name in to get a key, and then to put it in a notepad file and send it to me through the post.

Is this legal, or am I able to make a claim and get my money back for this?

It was £50, but it's still a lot seeing as it cost them £0 to give it to me.

Thank you all for the help
mikeylfc20

Re: I have been ripped off, but have they legally ripped me

Postby diy » Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:21 am

There would appear to be several angles:

1. If they didn't describe the offer as being an educational/student license, then they haven't provided you with what was described - so you have a "not as described" claim and can reject the purchase.
2. Its likely that they aren't an authorised reseller and have no right to sell you a license. So they have sold you something they have no title to sell - however they may have described (1) as a service for a fee.
3. If you don't meet the criteria for the license, then you aren't licensed.