Discussing UK law. Links: swarb.co.uk | law-index | Acts | Members Image galleries

Cyberchondria

A place to sit about and chat between more important things.

Cyberchondria

Postby atticus » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:27 am

I read an article recently about "Cyberchondria"*. Apparently people reading stuff on the internet and being convinced that they have self-diagnosed with leprosy or whatever is costing the NHS bucketloads** in unnecessary tests.

Lawyers sometimes get the equivalent from clients.

I am sure that other professions and trades do as well, even tree surgeons!

ETA:

* https://theconversationuk.cmail20.com/t ... dvptkyu-u/

**£56m annually - money over which the NHS could get back control.
atticus - a very stable genius
atticus

Re: Cyberchondria

Postby 3.14 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:23 pm

Probably, my profession is the only one that 99% if a client thinks her partner is cheating on her then he probably is.
Hide in the noise. #hackerwisdom

Postby shootist » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:21 pm

atticus wrote:I read an article recently about "Cyberchondria"*. Apparently people reading stuff on the internet and being convinced that they have self-diagnosed with leprosy or whatever is costing the NHS bucketloads** in unnecessary tests.

The other side of that coin is, so I have read, that a significant number of people have researched their complaints on the internet and as a result have mitigated their problems even to the extent of possibly saving their life. As long as home medical encyclopaedias have been available they have been the hypochondriac's friend. Personally I am glad that the days of the doctor feeling insulted that a patient dare question a diagnosis are receding.
"I do not agree with what you say, but I'll defend to the death my right to be offended by it."
shootist

Postby Smouldering Stoat » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:54 pm