Discussing UK law. Links: swarb.co.uk | law-index | Acts | Members Image galleries

Ltd Company questions

Ltd Company questions

Postby BoJangles » Tue Nov 08, 2016 1:36 pm

Hi all, hope you are all well!

Unfortunately I have a few questions regarding a small limited co.

1. Director and Company Secretary, both 50% share holders, business very successful but constant disagreements. Director constantly threatens to close business when we disagree.

a: I have read that it takes a 75% vote to close a 'successful' business?
b: If director up and leaves does this not put the director in breach of his duties under the Companies Act and legal action can be taken by CS?

2. Is a director of a limited company liable to repay company loans (dividends that were due to CS) If company is closed?

Thankies
Note: I am not a lawyer...just learnt a fair bit on that hideous road called litigation
BoJangles

Re: Ltd Company questions

Postby diy » Tue Nov 08, 2016 1:56 pm

I don't have answers - apart from welcome back.

One thought - how exactly will he close the company without the cooperation of the other?

It sounds like these 2 need to get around the table and decide who is staying and who is leaving and what value the share is.
My suggestions are not legal advice
diy

Postby shootist » Tue Nov 08, 2016 1:58 pm

If Director and Company secretary are married to each other then I'd recommend a suicide pact.
"I do not agree with what you say, but I'll defend to the death my right to be offended by it."
shootist

Postby atticus » Tue Nov 08, 2016 2:12 pm

Hi BJ, long time no see!

1a. A special resolution (75%) is required to put a company into voluntary liquidation.
1b. The company is in an impossible position if its sole director resigns. Why aren't they both directors?
2. No.

Time to see a good solicitor. Or to lock these two in a room on their own until they reach an agreement.
atticus

Postby dls » Tue Nov 08, 2016 2:23 pm

Very, very welcome back.